If you have ever considered living in Germany, surely the language is one of the first aspects that have raised doubts: What languages ​​are spoken in Germany? Is there something beyond German? What other countries speak this language officially?

Whether you are thinking of moving to Germany, going on a trip, or staying for professional or academic reasons, knowing closely what languages ​​are spoken in Germany will make your cultural adaptation much easier and more enriching. Not to mention all the opportunities you can open your way to.

Without further introduction, let’s go through a review of the languages ​​spoken in Germany.

Official languages ​​are spoken in Germany.

The reality of the languages ​​spoken in Germany is that its only official language is German, spoken daily by at least 95% of the population of this country. 

Although it is not officially recognized, during your stay in Germany, you will probably also communicate in English since around 56% of the population can understand and speak the Anglo-Saxon language fluently. 

However, if you are going to live in Germany, do not leave everything in the hands of the English. Sooner or later, you will have to turn to German knowledge since, as we have mentioned, it is the only officially recognized language in the whole country. 

Regional languages ​​of Germany 

In addition to German, the law recognizes other secondary languages ​​at the regional level, specifically spoken in some areas of the country. Among the regional languages ​​of Germany, we have:

  • Sórabo: language is spoken in the region of Lusatia, a small location between the federal states of Saxony and Brandenburg. 
  • Danish: spoken by the population living on the border with Denmark.
  • North Frisian: linguistic variety is spoken in the northwestern state of Schleswig-Holstein.

In what other countries is German spoken?

Unlike what appears at the beginning, German is not only spoken in Germany. In fact, it is the most widely spoken mother tongue among the member countries of the European Union (EU). It has been made official in AustriaBelgium, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, and Luxembourg

That’s how it is! If you ever want to take a tour of these countries and you are lucky enough to speak German, you will have no problem communicating as one of their inhabitants.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *